News

Ben Stokes remarkably survives as ball hits the stumps but fails to dislodge the bails


Umpire Paul Reiffel gave Ben Stokes out LBW, before replays showed the ball had hit the stumps but failed to dislodge the bails

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Fire still burning bright for Stuart Broad after Sydney five-wicket haul

England star Ben Stokes received a huge slice of luck in the fourth Ashes Test in Sydney when he shouldered arms and saw the ball hit off-stump.

Stokes should have been out bowled for just 16, but the ball failed to dislodge the bails.

Umpire Paul Reiffel bizarrely gave Stokes out anyway, apparently LBW, and the all-rounder was left in a state of bewilderment.

He promptly reviewed the decision and was given not out, bursting out laughing when he saw the replay.

BBC Test Match Special commentator Geoff Lemon said: “It hit off stump quite solidly and the bail started to come out of the groove and then fell back in. I don’t know how Paul Reiffel has given that out.

“That was a bizarre sequence of play. The ball was at least a ball’s width away from the pad, how did umpire Paul Reiffel think that was out lbw?”

Australia legend Shane Warne was left in a state of “shock”, telling Fox Cricket: “What are they appealing for?

“I’m still in shock. I don’t quite understand what we just saw. Look at how hard this hit the stumps.

“But the Australian team appealed too. What are they appealing for? I’ve never seen anything like that.”

Reacting on social media, former West Indies international Ian Bishop tweeted: “That hit the stump so hard. Amazing”

Ex-England opener Ben Duckett, who is currently playing in Australia’s Big Bash for Brisbane Heat, tweeted: “How has the umpire given that out”

Former England star Craig Kieswetted added: “Up there with one of the bizarre umpiring decisions ever by Paul Reiffel”







Ben Stokes could not help but laugh after seeing the replay
(

Image:

Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

It was the second time in as many Ashes series that an England batter had survived after the ball hit the stumps, with Joe Root involved in a similar moment in the 2019 series.

In the first Test, a ball from James Pattinson hit his off stump but failed to dislodge the bails, with umpire Joel Wilson initially giving Root out caught behind before the decision was overturned on review.

Read More

Read More





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.